Engr. J. S. Olayande Emerges as Acting Director General

Engr. Joseph Sunday Olayande has emerged as the Acting Director-General of Energy Commission of Nigeria. He succeeded Prof Eli Jidere Bala whose tenure in office as the 3rd Director-General of Energy Commission of Nigeria ended on the 5th of May, 2023.

In line with the Public Service Rule, Prof E. J. Bala handed over to Engr. J. S. Olayande in a brief ceremony at the Headquarters of the Commission Abuja, being the most senior Director in the Commission.

Engr. Olayande’s appointment as the Overseeing Director-General was formally conveyed to him in a letter dated 18th May, 2023 and signed by Mrs Monilola O. Udoh, Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation.

In the letter the Permanent Secretary stated that “Following the retirement of Prof. Eli Jidere Bala as the Director-General, Energy Commission of Nigeria (ECN), I am pleased to convey the approval of the Honourable Minister for you to oversee the office of the Director-General, ECN with effect from 6th May, 2023.”

Earlier at the Handover Ceremony, Prof. Bala thanked the Management and staff of the Commission for his successful tenure and wished the Commission the very best.

While responding, the Acting Director-General, Engr. Olayande gave a brief on Prof. Bala’s service to the Commission, starting from when he was a Deputy Director in the then Lagos Office, a Director in Abuja and later, the Director-General. He extolled the cordiality and thoroughness with which he worked with his staff. He appealed for support in his capacity as the Acting Director-General and on behalf of the Commission wished Prof. Bala the very best in his future endeavors.

Engr. J. S. Olayande, Acting Director-General, ECN

Prof Eli Jidere Bala handing over to the most senior Director in the Commission, Engr J. S. Olayande

The outgoing Director General Prof. Eli Jidere Bala and the Acting Director General Engr. Joseph Sunday Olayande in a group photograph with the Energy Commission of Nigeria’s Management Staff