Principal Officers

The Energy Commission of Nigeria has eighteen (18) Departments, each under a Director. Similarly, there are six (6) Energy Research Centres under the Commission with specific Technical/Research roles.

Professor (Engr.) Eli Jidere Bala
PhD(Applied Energy),FNSE, FAEng, FNIMechE, FSESN, FNAEE

Director General/Chief Executive Officer

Engr. Joseph Sunday Olayande
B.Sc., M.Sc. (Petr. Engrg); MNSE, MSPE, MIAEE/NAEE.

Director, Energy Planning And Analysis

Engr. Okon N. Ekpenyong
B. Eng(Electrical), M.Eng(Energy Studies), R.Eng(COREN), IN-SHP(Certificate), FICAN, FIMC, FIOGR, MWEC, MSESN, MIN-SHP, MIAEng, MWSSET

Director, Linkages, Research & Consultancy

Barr. Funmi Teniola Abiodun
LL.B, B.L.

Director, Legal and Energy Law

Mr. Abdulkareem Ozi Aliyu
M.Sc. (Environmental Resources Management), B.Sc. (Statistics)

Director, Energy Training & Manpower Development

Abdulazeez Yakubu Elamah, Esq.
BA (Comb. Hons.), PGDip (Public Relations), MPA, Bachelor of Laws (LL. B), BL.

Director, Media & Public Affairs

Mr. Cletus D. Nnah
BSc. (Accounting), MBA (Financial Management), ACSA (USA), FCCA, ACIT, MCIM

Director, Finance & Accounts

Mr. Abioye Waheed Olaiya
BSc. Hons. (Accounting), MBA, MIPSA, ACSA(USA), AANAN, ACIT

Director, Budget, Monitoring and Evaluation

Engr Mohammed Adam Mundu
BSc. Petroleum Engrg, M.Eng Energy Engrg, R.COREN, FIDFPM, MNSE, MNIP

Director, Energy Information Systems

Hajara Onaolapo Babatunde-Gegele
BSc.( International Relations),PGD (Business Admin), MNIM

Director, General Services

Engr. Felix O. Olu
B.Eng (Hons) (Electrical),MSc (Electronics-ICT), MNSE, MNCS, FNIEEE

Director, Internet Digitalization & Communication Technology

B. F. Ibrahim Sulu
MSc.(Mech. Eng.)

Director, Energy Management

Dadeino H. Bamaiyi
BSc Accounting, MBA (Finance),MANAN, MASA(USA), AMNIM

Director, Internal Audit

Haruna Bala

Ag. Director, Reforms Coordination and Service Improvement

Bashir Muhammad Liman
MEng. (Mechanical Production), PGD(Chemical Engineering), MSE, MWEC-NNC

Ag. Director, Nuclear Energy

Dr. Asogwa Jude Chukwugozie
PhD(Electrical) MNSE, R.Engr.COREN

Ag. Director, Renewable Energy

Mr. Damian Echesirim Anokwuru
BPhil, PGDE, MSc.(Political Science/International Relations)

Ag. Director, Human Resource Management

Dr. Abdulwaheed Suleiman Ahmed
PhD Environmental Engineering, MRSC, MSESN, MNES, MCSN

Ag. Director, Special Duties

Dennis Iyeke Igbinomwanhia, PhD
PhD(Design & Manuf. Engrg) FNIPES, MNSE, R.Engr. COREN

Director National Centre for Energy and Environment (NCEE) University of Benin, Benin City.

Prof. Adebayo Wahab Salami
PhD (Civil Engineering), MNSE, R.Engr. COREN

Director, National Centre for Hydropower Research and Development (NCHRD) University of Ilorin, Ilorin

Prince O.O.E Ajibola
PhD (Systems Engineering), MNSE, R.Engr. (COREN), FSEA, MBMES (USA)

Ag. Director, National Centre for Energy Efficiency and Conservation, (NCEEC) University of Lagos, Lagos

Prof. Muazu Musa
PhD (Nottingham,UK), M.Engr. (BUK), B.Engr & HND-BKPoly; COREN, FSESN, MNSE, MNIP,MWSSET & United Nations University, Fellow in Renewable Energy (IIT,NewDelhi-India)

Ag. Director, Sokoto Energy Research Centre (SERC) Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

Dr. Bappah Adamu Umar
PhD (Structural Geology), MSc (Applied Environmental Geology), BTech (Applied Geology), MNMGS, MNES

Ag. Director, National Centre for Petroleum Research and Development, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

Engr. Dr. Izuchukwu Francis Okafor
PhD, M. Eng. (Mech. Engrg), B. Eng.(Mech. Engrg), SESN, MWEC-NNC, CMNSE, ASME, R.Engr. COREN

Ag. Director, National Centre for Energy Research and Development (NCERD) University of Nigeria, Nsukka